Twitter India welcomes Election Commission of India onboard the platform; launches #LokSabhaElections2019 emoji to light up election conversations

By : |March 22, 2019 0
Available in 12 languages, the election emoji will feature an image of the Parliament of India

As the world’s largest democracy goes into elections, conversations and debates on Twitter in India are on the rise. Committed to providing front row access to the election conversation, Twitter India welcomes the Election Commission of India’s SVEEP (Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation Program) (@ECISVEEP) onboard the platform. Twitter India is also launching a special election emoji, aimed at encouraging healthy participation in election-related discussions, and encouraging more people to go out and vote.

Embeddable Tweet:

Embeddable Tweet:

Embeddable Tweet:

The Election Commission of India’s Systematic Voters’ Education and Electoral Participation program (SVEEP) on Twitter (@ECISVEEP) is set up to raise more voter awareness through the platform. The handle was launched on Holi and one of their first campaigns on Twitter #DeshKaMahaTyohar is about ensuring no voter is left behind.


Embeddable Tweet:

By introducing the emoji, Twitter India hopes to make it easier for Indians across the world to join the election conversation on its platform. Available now until 31st May 2019, the emoji features a panoramic colored illustration of the Parliament of India. People can Tweet in Hindi, English, Bengali/Assamese, Gujarati, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Odiya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu, to activate the emoji: #LokSabhaElections2019, #IndiaDecides2019, #IndiaElections2019, #लोकसभाचुनाव2019, #লোকসভানিৰ্বাচন, #લોકસભાચૂંટણી, #ಲೋಕಸಭೆಚುನಾವಣೆ, #ലോക്സഭാതെരെഞ്ഞെടുപ്പ്, #लोकसभानिवडणूक, #ଲୋକସଭାନିର୍ବାଚନ, #ਲੋਕਸਭਾਚੋਣਾਂ, #நாடாளுமன்றதேர்தல், #లోక్‌సభఎన్నికలు, and لوک_سبھا_انتخابات#

Remarking on the Election Commission’s Twitter debut, Umesh Kumar Sinha, Deputy Election Commissioner said, “As we move closer to the 17th Lok Sabha election in the country, we are committed to ensuring fair administration of the electoral process, by equipping India’s voters with accurate and adequate information to make their choice. We are proud to extend this commitment with the launch of our new handle on Twitter. @ECISVEEP would allow us to further the aim of building a stronger democracy, by encouraging all eligible citizens to be aware and active in the voting process, thereby maintaining and enhancing the sanctity of the electoral process. It’s our wish and hope that all voters will participate in the coming national election 2019 in an informed and ethical way.”

Mahima Kaul (@misskaul), Director, Public Policy and Government at Twitter India said, “India is the world’s largest democracy, and the upcoming election is a key priority for us at Twitter. Over the past several months, we’ve taken significant steps to safeguard the integrity of conversations and enhance the health of our platform. Election-related conversations dominate the platform today, and we are honored to onboard the Election Commission handle @ECISVEEP to encourage voter awareness and education. Citizens will receive crucial information directly from the Election Commission on Twitter, in turn they can engage with and amplify accurate and positive information to their community.”

Anticipation around #LokSabhaElections2019 is building up, especially on Twitter as news channels, politicians, experts, and citizens unite around hashtags. To stay on top of the Election conversations, follow the political parties and leaders on Twitter to see every side of the conversation.

List of political party accounts with verified handles (in alphabetical order, not an exhaustive list):


● @BJP4India – Bharatiya Janata Party

● @cpimspeak – Communist Party of India (Marxist)

● @INCIndia – Indian National Congress

● @NCPspeaks – Nationalist Congress Party

Andhra Pradesh

● @BJP4Andhra- Bharatiya Janata Party

● @INC_Andhra – Indian National Congress

● @JaiTDP – Telugu Desam Party

● @JanaSenaParty – Jana Sena Party

● @YSRCParty – Yuvajana Sramika Rythu Congress Party

Arunachal Pradesh

● @BJP4Arunachal- Bharatiya Janata Party

● @INCArunachal – Indian National Congress


● @BJP4Assam- Bharatiya Janata Party

● @INCAssam – Indian National Congress


● @BJP4Bihar- Bharatiya Janata Party

● @INCBihar – Indian National Congress

● @RJDforIndia – Rashtriya Janata Dal (Bihar)


● @BJP4CGState- Bharatiya Janata Party

● @INCChhattisgarh – Indian National Congress


● @BJP4Goa- Bharatiya Janata Party

● @INCGoa – Indian National Congress


● @BJP4Gujarat- Bharatiya Janata Party

● @INCGujarat – Indian National Congress


● @BJP4Haryana- Bharatiya Janata Party

● @INCHaryana – Indian National Congress

Himachal Pradesh

● @BJP4Himachal- Bharatiya Janata Party

● @INCHimachal – Indian National Congress

Jammu & Kashmir

● @INCJammuKashmir – Indian National Congress

● @BJP4JnK- Bharatiya Janata Party

● @JKNC_- Jammu & Kashmir National Co

No Comments so fars

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.