TCS judged the best stall at Bangalore

CIOL Bureau
Updated On
New Update

BANGALORE: Tata Consultancy Services (TCS) was awarded the best overall stall at the recently concluded five day event, Bangalore 2002, while Tumkur’s Sarvodaya PU College boys Sandeep and Pradeep won the statewide rural IT Quiz as part of the same event.

The winners of the stalls were judged by, Department of Science and Technology, Balkiraman, Ernst and Young, CEO, Sharda Cherwoo and Classical dancer Vani Ganapathy. The stalls were evaluated on criterias such as stall design, product display and presentation.

The Bavarian stall walked away with the prize for the IT Nations pavilion, while Robert Bosch won for the STPI pavillion. The Tech States pavilion had joint winners with the Kerala and Gujarat bagging the top honors and TCS was adjudged the best in the Software pavilion. The Spectrum pavilion had Canon as the winner while the Enterprise and Yuva pavilion witnessed Hinduja TMT winning the prize. Bharti Enterprises and Tata Teleservices were the joint winners for the Telecom and Networking pavilion and Immaculate won in the BPO pavilion. The Infrastructure pavilion saw Adarsh Group and Hiranandani Constructions as the joint winners.

In the rural IT quiz, covering 27 districts in Karnataka, Sandeep and Pradeep won the quiz with 90 points, while Sanjana and Kshama from Carmel School, Mandya were placed second with 80 points and Vikas and Sumanth from Venkateshwara PU College, Hassan were placed third with 65 points.

48,600 students across Karnataka participated in the quiz, which is being held for the third year in succession as part of the fifth edition of The quiz had six rounds, Explore IT, Unjumble IT, Download IT, Choose IT, Beyond the Obvious, and TCS’ Thirty Crucial Seconds.

The Winning team received a trophy, TCS cash scholarship of Rs 50,000 and an audio system. The first and second runners up also received trophies, TCS cash scholarship of Rs 30,000 and Rs 20,000 respectively and audio players. The fourth, fifth and sixth finalists received cash scholarship of Rs 10,000, each.