Mahindra & Mahindra wins cybersquatting case in US

CIOL Bureau
New Update

BANGALORE, USA: Mahindra & Mahindra (M&M) has recently won a cybersquatting case at the World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) against a US-based person named Zach Segal, who was using the name 'Mahindra' in an Internet domain.


The domain name Segal was using was 'mahindraforum.Com'. But the Indian conglomerate contended that the name is confusingly similar to its 'Mahindra' trade mark and the person has no rights or legitimate interests.

The Geneva-based WIPO, a part of the United Nations, has asked Segal to transfer disputed Internet site to M&M, according to reports. The ruling came after M&M filed a complaint before the UN agency on July 6 this year.

As per WIPO website the complaint was filed with the WIPO Arbitration and Mediation Center on July 6, 2009. On July 6, 2009, the Center transmitted by email to the registrar a request for registrar verification in connection with the domain name. The same day the registrar conveyed to the Center its verification response, confirming that the respondent (Segal) is listed as the registrant and providing the contact details.


Following the receipt of the complaint from M&M, Segal indicated his willingness to relinquish control of the domain name in favor of the complainant. The complainant did not respond to that email.

On July 20, 2009, the Segal reiterated by email to the Center and to the M&M that he did not wish to contest the complaint.

The email he sent read: “I, , hereby relinquish all rights and control of the domain name Please initiate the transfer of this domain name to the control and ownership of the complainant, Mahindra & Mahindra Limited or to whomever will become responsible for the domain name.”

Cybersquatting is an illegal activity of buying and officially recording an address on the Internet that is the name of an existing company or a well-known person, with the intention of selling it to the owner in order to make money.