Facebook’s Snooze button to temporarily mute friends, pages for 30 days

By : |December 18, 2017 0

Facebook is rolling out a new feature called “Snooze” that lets you temporarily mute annoying friends and pages for 30 days. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. However, you will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time.

Product Manager Shruthi Muraleedharan, Facebook explained the whole thing, which she says is all about giving you more control over your News Feed. “By selecting Snooze in the top-right drop-down menu of a post, you won’t see content from those people, Pages or groups in your News Feed for that time period,” she said in a blog post. “With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time.”

Snooze joins a series of other content controls for News Feed, like UnfollowHideReport and See First, which give people more ways to customize their experience, notes Facebook.


Muraleedharan said the Snooze button is very similar to the Hide feature which removes content from a specific person or a page for an indefinite period of time. Facebook says that Snooze and other similar features are part of its broader efforts to give users more control over what they see in their feed.

Snooze will be rolling out to users very soon.

No Comments so fars

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.